Need help finding out if something is wrong with my coffee soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

em_england17

Reaction score
So this is my first time using coffee essential oil in my coffee soap recipe. I used it just as I would an essential oil to add a nice scent to my soap. I noticed it was very soft so I waited two days to unmold and cut. When I cut, I noticed there were these lighter lines all throughout and have no clue what they are and was wondering if somebody could help. What went wrong??
Thanks!!

Attachments

• IMG_7765.jpeg
    IMG_7765.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_7759.jpeg
    IMG_7759.jpeg
    2.9 MB · Views: 0
My suggestion would have been that you poured at a very thick trace, when the batter was starting to set. BUT then I zoomed the photo in - and it looks like there's more to these lines than meets the eye. They look more like webs, actually. Could they be glycerin rivers? I'm curious what the others have to say. What colorant did you use?

I don't pretend to know all about essential oils, but I went to EOcalc and couldn't find any option for coffee essential oil. Are you sure what you used was an essential oil? If it was a fragrance oil, was it formulated for use in cold process soap? When did you add the coffee oil to the batter, and are you sure you mixed it in thoroughly?

My suggestion would have been that you poured at a very thick trace, when the batter was starting to set. BUT then I zoomed the photo in - and it looks like there's more to these lines than meets the eye. They look more like webs, actually. Could they be glycerin rivers? I'm curious what the others have to say. What colorant did you use?