My goat milk soap keeps cracking on top

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DebFiel3

Reaction score
I am not really new at soap making but I do have a question about my goat milk soaps. I make the soap any where from 100° to 120°.
I have a small fridge that I put them in right after they are made. They are still cracking on top. It's so frustrating because I'm not sure what I am doing wrong. I should say some of them Crack, some of them don't.

Attachments

• 20240913_150104.jpg
    20240913_150104.jpg
    4.5 MB · Views: 2
  • 20240913_150051.jpg
    20240913_150051.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 0
I am pretty new to soapmaking, but I have only ever made goat milk soap. I mostly soap around 100°F. The only time I go hotter than that is if I'm using a lot of goat tallow in my recipe because it tends to re-solidify under 120°. But I keep my lye/milk mixture under 100°. I do let my soaps gel and have never had them burn. The closest I have gotten to a crack is a teeny little blip in one batch with coffee and milk. My best guess is that the soaps that crack are probably made at closer to that 120° range than 100°. I'm sure someone with more experience can give you a better idea of what is going on.

Your soap looks beautiful, by the way, in spite of the cracks.

Try soaping at temp below 100 (if your chosen oils allow for that) ‐ even a little difference counts.

Also, what concentration is your lye solution? From what I know, more water means higher chance of overheating. I make cow milk soap and my lye solution is at 40% concentration. I insulate the mold and it gels, I never use the fridge - and no cracks so far.

Do you have any other overheating factors in your recipe ‐ like sugar/honey/high % CO?