Need ideas for how to use lots of shredded olive oil soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ten

Reaction score
Hi there...I'm new on the forum. I joined to find a use for a LOT of shredded olive oil soap that I have. Like about 200 lbs. It's nice...and I've tried to find a new home for it...but it looks like it's going to stay with me for a while so I'd better figure out what to do with it.

I'm actually a fiber artist, not a soapmaker (yet) so I'm really at a loss to figure out what I can do with it. I have almost no time to devote to it so I have to find something quick.

I tried to do soap balls, but they don't turn out consistently. Probably because I don't have the first clue what to do other than squish them together in the shape of a soap ball and hope for the best.

Can you tell I'm a newbie? Any help would be appreciated. What would YOU do with 200 lbs of shavings. Help! They're burying me!! I need ideas!!!

Thanks! :D

Depending how old the shreds are, you can try to rebatch. If they are fairly new, you won't need water. If they are older a little water helps. You can do this in a crockpot (as much as it will hold). The rebatch will look like mashed potatoes or like thick applesauce.

Well...it's a byproduct of what I make. And I get more of it every week. I'm swimming in it!!! :0

wowser that is a lot of soap shreds..............I think Soapbuddy is right the best thing is probably to rebatch it...............Welcome to the forum we will have you addicted to soaping in no time hehehehe :D

Thanks for the welcome and suggestions.

I've tried the crock pot a while ago. I'm not sure how gooshy to get it and then when it's gooshy exactly what to do with it.