HP shampoo bars

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ciloo

Reaction score
Hi there, I’m Cecile, I’ve been soaping for several years now.
I searched the forum for an answer and found nothing, so I decided to create a new post.
I have an idea and I don’t know if it is doable: I would like to make a hot process soap for a shampoo and once fully saponified, try and drop the pH by adding a citric acid solution to bring it closer to pH=7, even lower if I can. (Ideally around 6,5)
I read a lot of posts telling that soap doesn’t do good with acids, but all I read was about before saponification, like adding citric acid in a soap to deal with soap scums (sodium citrate acting as a chelating agent) or ACV that basically decrease the amount of lye available to saponify the oils in the formula.
Has anyone tried such a thing ?

Thanks a lot for any answer 😊

Hi there, I’m Cecile, I’ve been soaping for several years now.
I searched the forum for an answer and found nothing, so I decided to create a new post.
I have an idea and I don’t know if it is doable: I would like to make a hot process soap for a shampoo and once fully saponified, try and drop the pH by adding a citric acid solution to bring it closer to pH=7, even lower if I can. (Ideally around 6,5)
I read a lot of posts telling that soap doesn’t do good with acids, but all I read was about before saponification, like adding citric acid in a soap to deal with soap scums (sodium citrate acting as a chelating agent) or ACV that basically decrease the amount of lye available to saponify the oils in the formula.
Has anyone tried such a thing ?

Thanks a lot for any answer 😊

I feel like this came up again very recently. When I get home, I'll try to find the thread.

Last edited:
In a word, no this won't work.