Hot Process Help Pronto! (Still cooking!)

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cdc

Reaction score
I have a wonky crock pot, I dont think it is getting hot enough. I left it to cook overnight since it was so not hot, and it doesnt look any different this morning!!!!

I have switched crock-pots now....so can up the heat, but this is my first attempt at HP and I dont know what I am seeing!

If I left the stuff to cook overnight at about 130-140, should that be enough to get through all the stages?

If I now up the heat, can I overcook it???

Thanks!! :?

Thick like mashed potato.....sort of gelish..amber but not totally transparent.
and the gel is light and slightly fluffy.

This is Liquid soap.

It sounds like it is jelling now that you have in in the other crock. Just keep an eye on it. If you have it on high especially. You can take out a tiny bit on your finger rub it to cool it and touch it to your tongue....if you get zapped it's not done. When you no longer feel a zap put it in the mould quickly. Good luck....sounds like everything if fine:)

Umm, this is more of a question than advice. But isn't one of the concerns overheating the soap and having it volcano on you? My understanding is that with HP you watch the pot so to speak.

Yes it can volcano, but if she is watching it close she can stir it down and turn the heat down. I usually start mine on high and the min. the sides start to show signs of gel I turn it completly off....not everyone does this though. Everyone has their own way. But by turning it off I don't have to hover over it constantly :)

CDC Said
"I left it to cook overnight "
THis was my concern, if left untened I just figured it could make an awful mess or worse.

Oh yeah.....too high a heat and a too small crock pot can make quite the mess. :lol: