First batch M&P....not sure what's happening here

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kristina_mko

Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I'm completely new to soap making, been researching for about a month before finally deciding to try and make my own loaf.
I melted down the base, added my oils and fragrances and then poured it into the mold, I wanted to make a cute design on top by swirling a spoon around but I noticed my soap seemed to have created a plasticy skin on top however when I pressed it down, the bottom still seemed to be liquid. Am I doing something wrong? Where might I have gone wrong in the process? Perhaps I overheated the base?
It was forming a skin on top when I still had it in the bowl but I thought nothing of it and decided to proceed by adding it to the mold.
I was using my microwave to melt down the base as that is what most people use and seem to not have any issues (I was doing 30 second bursts and would only put it back into the microwave if I felt it start to harden while incorporating my oils) I wouldn't be surprised if maybe it did start to bubble in the microwave, and that is what caused the base to form a skin on top.

I would love to hear any tips or suggestions, or even what may have caused this to happen and if potentially I could salvage this soap somehow? It was about 2.5lbs of base that I would feel bad throwing out.
Thank you!

Hi there

Forming a skin on top is very common for MP that is cooling and has been exposed to air. It isn't out of the ordinary. It doesn't sound like anything is wrong with your soap from what you've described thus far.

Are you trying to make a textured top (3D texture) using the spoon? Like the image below?
1724714933861.png

Unfortunately, that's trying to make MP soap do something MP soap can't do*. MP soaps have smooth tops compared to CP/HP soap that can be textured.

october soap.png