beeswax/saddle soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Megan L-T

Reaction score
Oops, I posted this in the Introduction Forum by mistake because I'm new to the forum (but not new to soapmaking....I've been making soap for 14 years now). I'm trying to incorporate as much beeswax as possible into a basic Castile (OO) soap to make a saddle soap. In today's test batch I used a ration of 8 parts OO to 1 part beeswax and the soap seized up as soon as I added the lye water.

Has anyone else experimented with just how much beeswax can be added to a CP soap? I could make an OO soap, let it cure, then grate it into water, add the beeswax melted into more oil, and then pour it in to tins.........but I'm trying for a harder bar-type saddle soap.

Any thoughts?

This forum should be lots of fun! I just discovered it.

Megan

Okay....call me dumb (please, feel free!) but is HP short for Hot Process? As opposed to the Cold Process I do? If so, I don't know how to do that. I DID just find something on the net about how beeswax really speeds up the trace, as in, almost instant trace. I think that's what happened with this batch. I'll try backing off the percentage of beeswax a bit.

Thanks for the idea to add the beeswax at a light trace. I have always (13 years) mixed my soaps by hand so haven't used a mixing stick (does everyone prefer that method, the mixing stick?).....I'll keep my sturdy spatula going full tilt when I add the beeswax.

I just uncovered yesterday's seizing batch and it actually looks very cool!!! Tiny little bits of beeswax (NOT lye) are sprinkled throughout the soap. This must have been wax that hard started to cool just enough to solidify. It looks very neat.

Anyway, I think I've pushed the percentage of beeswax to the maximum and then some. I believe I'll back it down.