Trying to make bar soap appearance more attractive

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DrewsSoaps

Reaction score
Hey!

I’m new to bar soap, but have tons of experience in liquid potassium soaps..

My question is, well, I have about 150 2oz circular soap bars that are quite ugly. The soap is of a wonderful quality, but I sprinkled lavender buds in the molds before pouring the soap, and also also sprinkled some lavender buds on top of my soaps. The issue is anywhere the lavender touched the soap, there is a brown spot. I thought I could knock some lavender off, but the brown spots go into the soap and I would have to slice into the soap to remove the surface layer where the brown spots preside.

Is there anyway I can use lavender buds with bar soap and not have the brown spots appear?

Thanks so much.
Recipe is attached below incase that is needed

Attachments

• IMG_6178.jpeg
    IMG_6178.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 0
Hi there! From what I know, calendula is reported as not changing its color or the color of the soap. Usually, most of the flowers do that - lavender included. I'm one of those who are against using petals or buds in soap

Last edited:
Lavender buds invariably turn brown and end up looking like “mouse turds” as many soapers have noted. Cornflower petals however remain a pretty, bright blue while calendula petals remain a lovely yellow through saponification. Jasmine buds, which are cream colored, and that are sprinkled on top also retain their color. Rose petals and buds turn blackish, which might be pretty on black soap.

Hi there! From what I know, calendula is reported as not changing its color or the color of the soap. Usually, most of the flowers do that - lavender included. I'm one of those who are against using petals or buds in soap
Thank you so much!