soap logs

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Emilee

Reaction score
i know i know, they're just normal for most of you, but i've been using a slab mold for 2 years, and hubby just made me a log mold. he hasn't made the cutter yet, so i can't cut them yet (well not how i'd like anyway so i'm being patient otherwise if i try and use a knife i know i'll ruin them) but it doesn't worry me cause i'm loving just looking at the logs :eek:) some are gelled, some ungelled and some partially gelled, as follows all the fun and not so fun i've been having lately, trying to get a good gel.

anyways... from top, all gmcp, calendula unscented, lavender/chamomile, patchouli & sandalwood with sandalwood powder for swirl and p and s eo, cucumber mint with peppermint eo and cuc puree

furthermore just out of interest for those who don't have lots of money to spend on log molds...

hubby made me a log mold with 5 pieces of wood, bottom and 4 sides, put together with dowls. but the main thing is we've been trying a black polythene liner, and it works just great.... i was spraying some silocone on it, but as long as the soap gels, the polythene just peels right off the soap no worries. can post pics sometime when my mold and liners don't need cleaning. we just used 3 strips of polythene, one for the bottom and short sides, and one each for the long sides. easy as pie, actually easier than pie, my pies suck! :D

have a great day.

Those look wonderful - I so love my wood log molds - I line with Freezer Paper and I've now learned how to fold it so it has become really easy...most days :?

Gorgeous pics and congrats on your mould. My fave is the cucumber and mint, did you add a preservative? I'm thinking about trying this one myself.

Those logs are all absolutely beautiful.