"Smoking after bleach" smell in soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MasheYesh

Reaction score
Hello everyone đź‘‹
I am very new in this and just made my 2nd batch with a recipe I made up: 20% coconut oil, 15% neem oil, 5% castor oil and 60% olive oil.
I used soapcalc to calculate the weights of oils and lye and added activated charcoal and a little bit of lemon EO ( just a bit because it started to be very thick so I wanted to pour it to the mold quickly).
Now it has a smell that is the same one I used to get when smoking a cigarette after using bleach ( that is the only way I can describe it), it is a very nasty smell.
I used a PP plastic jar for mixing the oils with lye.
Do you have any thoughts about why it happened?
Any advice on how to fix it?
Thanks for the help

Neem oil is very stinky - that's probably what the smell is.
I use neem oil in other products I make, this is a very different smell. Neem smell is earthy this smell is much more acrid and chemical.
Is it possible for oil change scent so extremely?

Do you think it smells like ammonia? I sometimes get that smell if my soap gels - particularly if I use coconut milk in the recipe. It goes away after a week or so of curing.
Maybe, I will let it cure and see what happens. Thanks

The smell of my neem oil tends to change when combined with ye solution - much stronger and more acrid than on its own.
Is there any way to avoid or fix this?

Soaping cooler definitely helps, but mostly I have to wait for the smell to subside - or use less neem oil in the soap. I generally use 20%.

Soaping cooler definitely helps, but mostly I have to wait for the smell to subside - or use less neem oil in the soap. I generally use 20%.
I used 15% neem, and soaped at room temperature.
So what you are saying is that the smell will disappear while curing?

I used 15% neem, and soaped at room temperature.