Liquid Goat Milk Soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am relatively new to CP soapmaking (around 25 batches) and have never made liquid soap. I gave soap from one of my first batches to my sweet in-laws. My father-in-law LOVES the bar soap, but my mother-in-law asked if I could make liquid soap for her dispensers. I looked at liquid soap instructions, but the process seemed daunting and time consuming.

Fast forward nine months and I searched again for liquid soap instructions and recipes. Since I raise dairy goats, I have only ever made goat milk soap. I want to carry that on to liquid soapmaking. I found this easy-looking recipe online and wonder what experienced liquid soapmakers think of it.

https://shadyoakandsassafras.com/simple-liquid-goat-milk-soap-recipe/

It looks too easy to work. Is it worth a try for a beginner?

Looks like a decent recipe to me. A few notes:

1. The author doesn't seem to realize that, like bar soap, you can make any LS recipe via cold process. There is nothing magic about cooking LS or bar soap; heat just speeds up saponification. Once you have measured correctly and mixed everything well, saponification will happen on its own, with or without added heat/cooking.

2. The batter will be less likely to separate if you SB past trace to the paste stage. This is quite different from how we think about bar soap, isn't it? Remember that with LS, we are making a sticky, taffy-like paste that will eventually be diluted, not a solid, pretty bar. So, going beyond trace to paste is a good thing in LS.