Help me figure out the hardener in this ingredient list - please!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sadie Shannon

Reaction score
I'm new to soap and shampoo making, but I have spent several months just researching and trying to develop something for myself and my family. I found a product that I LOVE and would like to try and recreate something like it, but I'm struggling to figure out what ingredient(s) here were used to harden the bar! I came to this amazing group to ask for help. **I did delete all the essential oils from the list because I know they are probably limited to only a gram or two and are obviously liquid.

Any ideas? I'm guessing they used a hard coconut and palm oil?

Ingredients: saponified organic extra virgin olive, coconut, sustainable palm, sunflower, jojoba & castor oils, certified gluten free oats, sea salt, wild yucca root, wild chaparral.

Last edited:
I'm new to soap and shampoo making, but I have spent several months just researching and trying to develop something for myself and my family. I found a product that I LOVE and would like to try and recreate something like it, but I'm struggling to figure out what ingredient(s) here were used to harden the bar! I came to this amazing group to ask for help. **I did delete all the essential oils from the list because I know they are probably limited to only a gram or two and are obviously liquid.

Any ideas? I'm guessing they used a hard coconut and palm oil?

Ingredients: saponified organic extra virgin olive, coconut, sustainable palm, sunflower, jojoba & castor oils, certified gluten free oats, sea salt, wild yucca root, wild chaparral.

I'm not sure what you mean by hardener.