Help finding affordable essential oils

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

em_england17

Reaction score
Hi there,

I’m fairly new to soap making but I create all-natural cold process soaps, skin and hair care products. I know essential oils are expensive but I can’t afford most of them so I’m very limited on the types of soap I can make! Does anyone know where I can buy them at a decent price and good quality? Or are you just having to price your soaps fairly high to make a profit? I’ve been getting mine from Bulk Apothecary but man, 16oz Ylang Ylang is $300! How are people selling essential oil soaps for average price? Are they not using real essential oils?

Also what are your most popular scents??

I still make a few all natural soaps, but found that was not as important to my customer base as I expected. Most are looking for fragrances that they like. And I personally do like a lot of the fruity fragrances which are not EOs. I did try some all natural fragrance oils from Nature's Flavors but found their sticking power was very short lived. Additionally, EOs in general tend to be more expensive to use in soap as one tends to need a larger % ppo - so not only is their base price more expensive but you generally have to use more of it. Also, as you are discovering some EOs are very pricey, Rose Absolute comes to mind; I have to stay away from those. So for all those reasons I have migrated to having more soaps with fragrance oils than EOs.