First time with coconut milk...advice for next time?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hermanam

Reaction score
I finally found the time to try making the coconut milk soap I have been wanting to try for a while. For fear of scorching the milk, I decided to do half water, half milk at emulsion for my first attempt. It went so-so, things moved much faster than I had anticipated. Here's the breakdown...are we sure I did this right?

40% olive oil
30% palm oil
25% coconut oil
5% castor oil

5% super fat, I added HALF the recipe's water to my lye and let the solution cool to room temp. The oils were around 90 degrees when I added the lye solution. I briefly stick blended until emulsion, then added the coconut milk (the amount was the weight, in oz, of the other half of the water that I omitted from the lye solution). So, I am new to coconut milk, but wow that is thick stuff! I used Wal Mart's Golden Star brand. It contains only coconut milk and water. It was he consistency of hmmm, runny pudding or thick cream soup? Anyway, I didn't even stick blend, just stirred with a whisk, and it was already getting pretty thick on me. I barely had time to add FO or colorant before smashing it into the mold.

I would love some feedback on a few things. First, any issues with my base recipe? What about my process with the coconut milk...did I do this correctly (are we sure the milk makes up for the water I didn't add to the lye?). Lastly, any advice for next time so things don't move quite so quickly?

Thanks for the help...I would love to master this with some more practice. It looks like I will be snowed in this weekend (St. Louis), so I have lots of time to practice :)

Ann