Does making soap smell really bad?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sherrytx

Reaction score
This may be a silly question - I am new to all of this and still doing research so I can try making soup. Tonight I told my husband I wanted to give it a whirl, because I am trying to find something cool to do with my daughters that could possibly earn them a little money - or at least be something neat they could make and give as gifts.

His reaction was not what I expected - I said that it smells REALLY bad! He was tired, and I didn't get a chance to find out where/when he has ever been around someone while they were making soup. However, since one of my children has mild asthma, I figured I should ask - is it hard to breath when you are making soap?

We plan on trying non-lye recipes, so I don't know if that makes a difference or not. I realize that perhaps the oils you chose can also make a big difference in the smell.

Any input from you experience soap makers is greatly appreciated! :D

no it doesn't smell bad. there is a bit of odor from soaping but nothing objectionable. now if you are using fragrance materials (fragrance oils or essential oils) then you can get some strong smells going on. My kids ahve asthma and those don't bother them, but everyone is different.

But - there are no 'non lye' recipes. Unless you are talking about melt & pour soap. IN which case, as with CP soap, it'll depend on the fragrance materials you work with.

Not unless you're using beer instead of water, that stuff STINKS! Lye fumes are bad enough but since you're not using it...no I doubt it should smell bad