Consignment

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

elmtree

Reaction score
I was recently approached to sell my products in a new shop about 45 minutes away from me. I met this woman at a craft fair last year. She recently sent me a message on etsy asking if I would sell all of my products in her new shop. Apparently there is quite a bit of space for me. She said she has been thinking about my products since we met. The shop will be opening may 1st and she would like all products and displays set up by April 12. She sent me a contract for a 60/40 split. Me getting the 60. Is this a normal percentage? I'm not experienced with this as I have my products at a friends shop but she doesn't charge me. What should I be looking for in a contract and what is fair? Thanks!! This will be in a relatively upper middle class college town.

She is wanting an awful lot of money. IF you are willing to sell consignment (I personally am not) they the absolute maximum she should be taking is 30%. Have someone who understand legalize read over the contract to make sure your interests are covered.

Last edited:
I haven't sold soap on consignment, but I will chime in. I'm not sure how you'll make anything at those rates. Is she aware of these costs of soap making? I am guessing not, or she probably wouldn't have proposed those terms (which I think are normal enough for regular consignment items, but not soap). Hopefully, some soapers who are selling soaps in shops will chime in about their arrangements with the owners. But at 60/40%...poof! goes the profit...:)