Shea Oil in Cold Process Soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SoapMee

Reaction score
I have 16 oz of shea oil that I need to use up as it's getting to the end of it's shelf life. I know now that not many people use it in soap making. Any ideas out there on percentage used in soap that is not just wasting it (ie: using it up) but will actually contribute something to the bar of soap. So far I've used a lot of the following: Lard, CO, Crisco, Olive, Avacado, Rice Bran, Sweet Almond, Apricot, Neem, and Castor. I have a bit of Cocoa Butter and Shea Butter to experiment with which I have not used in soap making yet. I also have Palm Oil coming next week which I have no experience using yet either... My head is swimming as I'm trying to learn, and keep straight, which fatty acids do which thing. :)

I used soap calc to figure the FA profile (I see it's high in oleic)
Palmitic 6
Stearic 10
Oleic 73
Linoleic 11

Any ideas?

Play around with Coconut oil, rice bran oil, avocado oil and castor oil @ 5% and see what you come up with for a sheabutter soap. You can start off with with 20% shea and go from there. I have not tried shea butter with lard, crisco or palm but you could experiment with that if you want.

The only reason I did not give more percentages is because I think it is a good exercise to plan your first soap. With that in mind, I suggest only paying attention to cleansing levels, keeping them under 20 (you can even leave that as 12, you'll still get clean) and watching the palmitic and oleic levels I think. You want the soap to last you some. When you've come up with a recipe you'd like to try, feel free to run it with us and we can lend you more pointers. So far it looks like you're a brave one and off to a solid start.
:)