oh boy, I do need some advice!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ali

Reaction score
I don't ever peek

I peeked and er, I don't like what I saw.

there was oil on top of my soap, about a 1/4 inch or more.

Is this what they call seperation? what did I do wrong. soap to hot? too cold, darn this is just the pits.

but then again I've never peeked before so maybe this is normal, but I doubt it.

can some of you more experienced soapers help? if this batch is a flop, do I rebatch? I've never done that before, but my crock pot is ready.....and waiting.

it's been about 3 hours maybe 3 1/2...hours after pouring into the log mold.

this isn't normal......is it?

thanks so much,
Ali

nooooooooo not normal!

It's separation and I'm guessing you made a castile? or other soap high in olive oil or in lard?

You didn't have complete emulsification so the soap is separating in the mold. If this is indeed the case then you can scoop the whole thing into your soap bowl and stick blend it back together if it's still liquidy, or you can HP (rebatch) it in your crockpot.

The other thing it might be is overheating, but I don't think so unless you have it in the oven.

oh yeah, high in olive oil.

so just scoop it out right now and put it in the crock pot?

if so then I'm off like a prom dress to do just that.

what setting? High or low?

maybe I should go down and touch it. what if it's hard underneath.

sorry for all the questions, but I'm totally freakin' out here.

by the way.....I admire you all so much.

I lurk most of the time, drooling with envy. Mostly at the photo gallery.

again, thanks

This has happened to me a few times and I was able to save it by scooping it back into the pot, stick blending the heck out of it, and putting it in the oven at about 200 for about 40 mins, stirring every 15 minutes or so.