How To Compensate for Dried Orange Peels Affecting Lye?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PaintyLiz

Reaction score
Hi All,

I looked through a lot of posts, didn't see this info, but maybe I just missed it. I'm still fairly new to soaping, so I guess I didn't think I needed to do any research, but when I did, I didn't find any answers anyway.

I make 0% SF 100% Coconut Oil dish bars & love them! I thought I'd add some old dried orange peels I had laying around, so ground them up & threw them in at trace.

I noticed the bars did not set up as quickly as usual. Huh .. now when I use them they are wonderfully creamy, but not sure they clean as well. Also, a white bloom formed on the ones I took out of the molds early. The ones I left in longer look fine.

I'm thinking it's that the citric acid in the orange peels affected the lye - but how would you know how much to offset the lye? I'm not finding any info. Also these peels had a lot of pith (white part) in them. That probably had an impact.

Anyway, wondering how to adjust this next time. Since it's 0% SF I don't want to end up with unsaponified lye, although it would probably clean dishes great LOL

Thanks for any help/suggestions! You all are great!

"...citric acid in the orange peels..."

It's the juice in the fruit that contains citric acid. Orange zest contains essential oil, but does not contain juice. The pith (white part of the peel) also does not contain juice.

Even if there were small bits of fruit sticking to the peelings, the amount of juice in these bits will be tiny. So if you use dried orange peel the way most soap makers do, the amount of citric acid supplied by the peelings is small to non-existent. Don't worry about that.

Best guess is your soap didn't get warm enough to go into gel. The most obvious issue caused by this is the sap will be softer.