Coloured layers

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lemongirl

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm fairly new to soaping, and with a 6 month old and 3 year old running around, it's hard to get the time to really practice, but I tried to make a 2 tone soap the other day. I split the batch in half at trace and added colour to one half. Was hoping to have the coloured half on the bottom with white on top, but as soon as I'd poured the coloured half in the mould I realised it was nowhere near hard enough to support the second layer - which sure enough just sank in as soon as I poured it, so I had to do a swirl instead. So what's the secret? How do I get my bottom layer hard before I add the top one? Should I make the batches separately, and wait a day in between or something? I make such small batches I just worry they'll go horribly wrong if I split them in half. Thanks :)

What I usually do is this: I give the portion that will be going into the mold first a double dose of my stickblender to get it to come to trace quicker than the other half.

IrishLass :)

I don't do a lot of layered soaps, but I have made it both ways and it is easier to make a nice distictive layer if the bottom has time to set up a little (doesn't have to be a full day...) but I've also made both layers from the same batch, and if you let it get to a pretty thick trace you can spoon or ladle the top layer on gently and it wont sink if your real careful. You're more prone to dips and curves that way though...

Maybe someone else can be more help... :)