Bar Soap seizing up quickly

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DrewsSoaps

Reaction score
Hey.
I have been making liquid soap for 2 years, but am newer to bar soap.
My recipe and notes will be attached.
I am noticing a cloud-like constancy being formed when I marry my lye and oils. Almost like the saturated fats are re-solidifying somehow (lye temp is 100F and oil temp is 100F, gone up to 130F and same thing). When I mix with a spatula, the clumps smooth out and it’s immersible. However I am hitting trace within 1-2 minutes, and all the other videos show trace not happening for a few more to several minutes.
The main issue, is that the soap becomes un-pourable within 8-10 minutes, the consistency is similar to a 92 degrees coconut oil.
All the videos I watched, they had time to pour the soap into a mold. And my issue is I have to use a putty knife to smear the soap into my 1” duck shaped molds to get the molds details into the soap design. And the longer I take the harder the soap paste becomes until it’s similar to shea butter. The only difference between my recipe and the videos I watched is I used some more concentrated saturated fats to achieve desired results (1-2%, with palmitic up to 4%, weight of oils). I’ve done 7-8 different batches with varying amounts of stearic acid, palmitic, and myristic acid, and they all did the clump up within 8-10
Minutes of marrying the lye and oils. I also did a batch with none of the fore mentioned saturated fats and it did the same thing. Maybe beeswax is my culprit?
Any ideas on what is going on? All I can think of is sorbitol accelerating the reaction, or maybe the conc fatty acids are not a good choice?
Any help would be very much appreciated,
Thanks Drew,

Attachments

• IMG_6178.jpeg
    IMG_6178.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 0